Thankful

have woken up to find
Years gone and taken for granted
Sickness and sadness has drained me
And kept me from my full potential.
I wallow in my pity and mourn for myself.

Oh, the wonderful, prime days I will never enjoy.
Soon, I find, self-pity is not the answer.
I must embrace my remaining time
For I am lucky to have it
I must appreciate my family
For some people have no family
I must be grateful for my good fortune
For some have run out of luck
I sympathize with them
I mourn for them, too
But I am soon better
I am soon thankful
Its a pleasure reading your leave-in

